Convocation of UWA Graduates

Sports Scholarships - Old

Further Information

  • Update my details
  • Upcoming Events
  • Contact Us
Sports scholarship

Each year, Convocation makes available a Scholarship to assist one male and one female student to combine their studies with a sporting career.

Graduates of the University of Western Australia have contributed to provide for the Scholarship, whose purpose is to provide financial assistance to students who have demonstrated both sporting excellence (or potential sporting excellence), and a sustained level of proficient academic performance, to enable them to further their sporting careers or achievements.

The Scholarship may be used to acquire equipment, to defray travel expenses incurred in attending a sporting event, or to meet other appropriate costs associated with the recipient's sporting career.

  1. Award
  2. Applications
  3. Eligibility Requirements
  4. Selection Criteria
  5. More Information
  6. Roll of Honour


The value of the Scholarship is determined each year by the Council of Convocation and the UWA Sport and Recreation Association. In 2013, the prize winners were awarded $3,000 each.

Back to top


Applications for the 2014 Sports Scholarships are closed, and will reopen in 2015.

Back to top

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible to apply for a scholarship, an applicant must be:

  1. enrolled as a part-time or full-time student at the University of Western Australia in an undergraduate degree course;
  2. and able to provide evidence of sporting excellence.

Back to top

Selection Criteria

The scholarship is awarded to the applicant who, in the opinion of the selection committee, best demonstrate

  1. academic achievemenst;

  2. sporting achievements; and

  3. benefits which are anticipated from being in receipt of the scholarship.

Back to top

More Information

For more information regarding the Scholarship, please contact Sue Gliddon

Back to top

Roll of Honour

2016 Winners

Grant Szalek

Jodie Palmer

2014 Winners

Isabella King

Timothy Widdicombe

2013 Winners

Samantha Richards

Timothy Widdicombe

2012 Winners

Isabella King

Christopher Bausor

2011 Winners

Isabella King

Timothy Widdicombe

2010 Winners

Janine Murray

2009 Winners

Zoe Timmers

Reece Baker

2008 Winners

Megan Bagworth

Ben McCleery

2007 Winners

Jessica Jordan

Ben McCleery

2006 Winners

Jessica Jordan

Jamie Beadsworth

2005 Winners

Claire McLean

Adam Lucas

2004 Winners

Kylie Wheeler

Adam Lucas

2003 Winners

Amity Campbell

David Dennis

2002 Winners

Amy Ash